{"article":{"id":28537106111261,"url":"https://bumble.zendesk.com/api/v2/help_center/en-us/articles/28537106111261.json","html_url":"https://support.bumble.com/hc/en-us/articles/28537106111261-Taking-a-break-from-online-dating","author_id":21323899959581,"comments_disabled":false,"draft":false,"promoted":true,"position":4,"vote_sum":547,"vote_count":2279,"section_id":28055531417501,"created_at":"2025-07-01T16:21:22Z","updated_at":"2026-09-10T18:22:06Z","name":"Taking a break from online dating","title":"Taking a break from online dating","source_locale":"en-us","locale":"en-us","outdated":false,"outdated_locales":[],"edited_at":"2026-09-01T11:58:14Z","user_segment_id":null,"permission_group_id":8355835982749,"content_tag_ids":[],"label_names":["incognito","invisible","take break","rest","snooze","pause","stop dating","time off"],"body":"<p>Need some time away? We totally understand. Whether you're taking a digital detox, focusing on yourself, or just need a breather, we’re here to support you. </p><p> </p><h2 id=\"h_01JZ3CNA8EKF1XS1SZFSY7D2HN\"><strong>Use Snooze Mode</strong></h2><p>Snooze Mode lets you hide your profile and take a break—without deleting the information on your profile.</p><p><strong>To turn it on:</strong></p><ul>\n<li data-list-item-id=\"ef605fe03ef1ada528ae43eb194b267d8\">Open your profile</li>\n<li data-list-item-id=\"ea613de662200cc4351907d49cf7b5a91\">Tap the Settings icon</li>\n<li data-list-item-id=\"e49f8b386914baa761d6facd81e61ef57\">Select ‘Snooze Mode’</li>\n<li data-list-item-id=\"edeba0786069572c4d7265ee88a2b5b44\">Choose how long to snooze (24 hours, 72 hours, a week, or indefinitely)</li>\n<li data-list-item-id=\"eea07d771a92401cadafb383d6212e5aa\">Pick a status to show matches. Or, stay invisible</li>\n</ul><p>While in Snooze Mode, you can take a break from making new matches while still chatting with the connections you already have. During this time, you can also set an <strong data-start=\"308\" data-end=\"323\">Away Status</strong> so your matches know you’re temporarily unavailable.</p><p data-start=\"378\" data-end=\"404\">Choose from statuses like:</p><ul data-start=\"405\" data-end=\"497\">\n<li class=\"ck-list-marker-italic\" data-start=\"405\" data-end=\"422\" data-list-item-id=\"efc8dd2043254e862c2b420e0c34d3ee9\"><p data-start=\"407\" data-end=\"422\"><em data-start=\"407\" data-end=\"422\">I’m traveling</em></p></li>\n<li class=\"ck-list-marker-italic\" data-start=\"423\" data-end=\"446\" data-list-item-id=\"ee127f1be453f563285b7561852085fed\"><p data-start=\"425\" data-end=\"446\"><em data-start=\"425\" data-end=\"446\">I’m focused on work</em></p></li>\n<li class=\"ck-list-marker-italic\" data-start=\"447\" data-end=\"473\" data-list-item-id=\"e375c8b38d266171593831bdc4d253da0\"><p data-start=\"449\" data-end=\"473\"><em data-start=\"449\" data-end=\"473\">I’m on a digital detox</em></p></li>\n<li class=\"ck-list-marker-italic\" data-start=\"474\" data-end=\"497\" data-list-item-id=\"e60cdfff2a05647a81176bde27bdc3694\"><p data-start=\"476\" data-end=\"497\"><em data-start=\"476\" data-end=\"497\">I’m prioritizing me</em></p></li>\n</ul><p data-start=\"499\" data-end=\"616\">Your Away Status lets existing matches know what’s going on—so you can step back on your terms, without losing touch. You can make yourself visible again at any time by turning Snooze Mode off.</p><p data-start=\"499\" data-end=\"616\"> </p><h3 id=\"h_01JZ3CNA8FH23F5W25KXZSGW74\"><strong>Things to know:</strong></h3><ul>\n<li data-list-item-id=\"e6f27c9f0e2dd10db49a64d8e6c0469fe\">Switching on the Snooze feature does not pause your subscription — you'll still need to <a href=\"https://support.bumble.com/hc/en-us/articles/31155672473117\">manage your subscription</a> if you'd like to take a break.</li>\n<li data-list-item-id=\"e98abfc81b4b1921d6fc47744ba86bb17\">Any matches you have without active chats will expire while you're in Snooze Mode.</li>\n</ul><h3 id=\"h_01KG81K54EHAK47QB975ZS6W27\"><strong>Need a more permanent break?</strong></h3><p>If you’re sure you want to leave Bumble, you can delete your account instead. </p><p>When your account is deleted, we make sure it is no longer viewable on the app. For up to 28 days, it is still possible to restore your account if it was accidentally deleted. After 28 days, we begin the process of deleting your personal information from our systems in accordance with our <a href=\"https://bumble.com/privacy-policy\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener noreferrer\">Privacy Policy</a>.</p><p>Learn how to delete your Bumble account <a href=\"https://support.bumble.com/hc/en-us/articles/28784017124381\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener noreferrer\"><span class=\"wysiwyg-underline\">here</span></a>. </p>","user_segment_ids":[]}}